Skip to main content

2012 Free Agent Class Is Club's Largest Ever

In terms of both dollars allocated and players signed, the Cowboys' 2012 free agent class is already the largest ever for the franchise.

On Friday, guard Nate Living became the seventh player to agree to terms with the club in less than 48 hours.

Since the modern era of free agency began in 1993, the Cowboys have twice signed six unrestricted free agent.

In 2006 the team signed LB Akin Ayodele, LB Rocky Boiman, T Jason Fabini, TE Ryan Hannam, G Kyle Kosier and K Mike Vanderjagt, equaling a 2003 class that included FB Richie Anderson, TE Dan Campbell, P Toby Gowin, CB Donald Mitchell, LB Al Singleton and T Ryan Young.

In 1990 the Cowboys signed 16 players, including tight end Jay Novacek and safety James Washington, through Plan B free agency, the precursor to the current system.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.