Skip to main content

3 Former Cowboys Named Hall Of Fame Modern-Era Semifinalists

FRISCO, Texas – Former Cowboys head coach Jimmy Johnson, safety Darren Woodson and wide receiver Terrell Owens are among 26 modern-era semifinalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2017.

The list was trimmed from 94 nominees. In January, 15 modern-era finalists will be selected from the 26 semifinalists.

Joining them will be two Contributors Committee finalists – Cowboys owner/general manager Jerry Jones and former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue – and Seniors Committee finalist Kenny Easley.

The Class of 2017 election vote will take place in Houston on Super Bowl weekend in February. Jones, Tagliabue and Easley will be voted on separately.

According to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, "Although there is no set number of enshrinees for any Hall of Fame Class, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's current bylaws stipulate that between four and eight new members will be selected each year. No more than five Modern-Era Finalists can be elected in a given year. Therefore, a class of six, seven, or eight can only be achieved if one or more of the Contributor and Senior Finalists are elected."

Johnson is a modern-era semifinalist for the fourth straight year, Woodson for the second time (2015, 2017) and Owens for the second straight year.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.