Skip to main content

Cowboys Announce 2015 Community Quarterback Award Winner

IRVING, Texas– The Dallas Cowboys have announced Marcelline Green, a volunteer from the North Texas Food Bank, as the 2015 Dallas Cowboys Community Quarterback Award winner. The North Texas Food Bank (NTFB) is a non-profit organization that provides hunger relief through a network of more than 250 partner agencies in 13 counties at more than 1,000 different feeding sites. For being named the Community Quarterback, Green received a $10,000 grant from Gene and Jerry Jones Family Foundation donated in her name to the NTFB. Through the NTFB giving structure, this grant amount will provide approximately 30,000 meals to hungry North Texans.

The Dallas Cowboys Community Quarterback Award volunteer recognition program was designed to help identify local volunteers who demonstrate leadership, dedication and a commitment to bettering the Dallas-Fort Worth community. Now in its 16th year, the award has granted more than $300,000 in funds to worthwhile non-profits on behalf of their hard working volunteers.

"I'm honored to receive the award. It's great! The North Texas Food Bank is an organization that should be supported even more than it is," said Green. "It's a wonderful organization because it helps senior citizens. So many seniors have low incomes and are forgotten. It's marvelous of the Cowboys to donate the gift."

Green, an 87-year-old recipient of the NTFB's senior feeding program (Commodity Supplemental Food Program), feels compelled to give back by donating her time to helping other seniors facing hunger. Green does not want seniors to have to make a decision whether or not to eat or purchase medicine, so on the second Thursday of each month, she greets more than 90 seniors who receive assistance from the NTFB food distribution located at the Hickory Tree Baptist Church in Balch Springs, Texas.

"Marcelline Green is a tireless advocate for hungry seniors in Balch Springs," says Jan Pruitt, NTFB President and CEO. "Mrs. Green is a dedicated volunteer with the North Texas Food Bank, helping to distribute food through the Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP) known locally as the PAN program. At 87-years-old she has a deep commitment to giving back to those in need. The North Texas Food Bank is so grateful for her efforts to help feed the hungry."

Green was presented with her award and a $10,000 grant donated in her name to the NTFB on Thursday, January 14 during a CSFP distribution service at the Hickory Tree Baptist Church by Community Quarterback award panelists and Cowboys Radio personalities Brad Sham, Kristi Scales and Babe Laufenberg. Rowdy, the official mascot of the Dallas Cowboys was also on hand for the presentation.

A Community Quarterback Award panel composed of team representatives and local media reviewed the nominations for the award. The panelists included Babe Laufenberg – Dallas Cowboys Radio Color Analyst, Brad Sham – Dallas Cowboys Radio Play-By-Play, Kristi Scales – Dallas Cowboys Radio Sideline Reporter, Joe Trahan – WFAA-TV ABC 8 Sports Anchor, Calvin Hill – former Dallas Cowboys running back and Cowboys team consultant, Mrs. Gene Jones – Jones Family Foundation Chairman of the Board and Mrs. Charlotte Jones Anderson – Dallas Cowboys Executive Vice President and Chief Brand Officer.

This year's runners-up for the Dallas Cowboys Community Quarterback Award were Peter Burns, a volunteer with Frisco Education Foundation and Diane Browne, who donates her time to The Gatehouse (projectHandUp). The two charities of the runners-up each will receive a $2,500 grant for their charity.

The seven finalists for the 2015 Dallas Cowboys Community Quarterback Award (in no particular order) are Beverly Olson – Neuro Assistance Foundation, Aleza Capen – Frisco Family Services, Amanda Hall – Camp Craig Allen, Catherine Southwick – United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, Raymond Westphal – Boy Scouts of America Cub Scout Pack 197, Leon Luckey – The Salvation Army Carr P. Collins Social Services Center and Carla Rosenberg – National Multiple Sclerosis Society. Each of these finalists will receive grants of $500 donated to their nominating charity.

To be considered for the Dallas Cowboys Community Quarterback Award, volunteers nominated must donate their time to helping non-profit (501c3 or 509) organizations, be non-compensated for their charitable work and be at least 10-years-old. Nominations for the award were accepted October to December by the Dallas Cowboys Community Relations Department.

For the past 27 years, Jerry Jones and his family have owned and operated the Dallas Cowboys with a management style that places just as much emphasis on community leadership as it does on the goal of winning the Super Bowl. The dominant theme, which underscores the Cowboys role in the community, is to maximize the visibility, energy and celebrity of the world's most recognizable sports franchise and use those dynamic forces as a powerful means to helping others. The results on the field have brought championships to Dallas. The results away from the field have touched the lives of thousands.

For more information about the Dallas Cowboys community outreach initiatives, please contact the Dallas Cowboys Community Relations Department at (972) 497-4959 or visit "Community" at

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content