Skip to main content

Miller Lite Moments

Presented by

DeMarcus Ware to be inducted into Ring of Honor


FRISCO, Texas – The list of accomplishments for DeMarcus Ware just got a little longer.

On Wednesday, Cowboys owner/GM Jerry Jones announced that D-Ware, the team's all-time leader in sacks, will be going into the Ring of Honor later this season.

Ware was recently inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame earlier this month. And now, his name will be officially displayed at AT&T Stadium with the other Cowboys legends.

Jones made the announcement in front of a crowd at Ford Center during a Season Kickoff show for the fans that Ware was actually hosting. 

"This is the second time he's surprised me," Ware said. "The first time when you told me I was going into the (Pro Football) Hall of Fame. And secondly, for me getting into your Hall of Fame. That means so much to me. Yes, Canton was great, but this is my home and my dad (Jones) that I played for. I did enough."

The Cowboys have not announced an official date for his halftime ceremony presentation. It is expected to be before the Nov. 30 game against Seattle. That's when both Ware and Chuck Howley will receive their Hall of Fame rings at halftime.

Currently, the Ring of Honor has 22 members, including 19 former players. Ware will be become the 20th player to be included in the Ring, but just the sixth player drafted by Jones, who bought the Cowboys in 1989.

Ware will become the first player to be inducted into the ROH since 2015 when the Cowboys honored Darren Woodson.

"You guys understand how seriously I take this Ring of Honor," Jones said. "It's not cavalier thing for me, at all. I recognize the fact it's a committee of one that makes this happen. As a player, for him to have distinguished himself, I'd like to think when you go into the Ring of Honor, that's not where it stops for the Dallas Cowboys organization. It goes forward for there. He's absolutely what I had in mind when I talk about the Ring of Honor." 

Drafted by the Cowboys in 2005 as the No. 11 overall pick, Ware earned seven Pro Bowls and four All-Pro selections during his nine seasons in Dallas. With 117.0 sacks, Ware became the Cowboys' all-time leader. Ware led the Cowboys in sacks for eight straight seasons from 2005-12, including a 20-sack season in 2008 and another 19.5 sack season in 2011.

Cowboys Ring of Honor (induction year)

  • Bob Lilly (1975)
  • Don Meredith (1976)
  • Don Perkins (1976)
  • Chuck Howley (1977)
  • Mel Renfro (1981)
  • Roger Staubach (1983)
  • Lee Roy Jordan (1989)
  • Tom Landry (1993)
  • Tony Dorsett (1994)
  • Randy White (1994)
  • Bob Hayes (2001)
  • Tex Schramm (2003)
  • Cliff Harris (2004)
  • Troy Aikman (2005)
  • Emmitt Smith (2005)
  • Michael Irvin (2005)
  • Rayfield Wright (2006)
  • Larry Allen (2011)
  • Drew Pearson (2011)
  • Charles Haley (2011)
  • Darren Woodson (2015)
  • Gil Brandt (2018)
  • DeMarcus Ware (2023)