Skip to main content

Roster Turnover Leads to 2 New Captains


FRISCO, Texas – There probably aren't many teams in the league, this year or even in past years, where more than half of the team captains are gone the next season.

But that is the case for the Cowboys, who announced five new captains for the 2018 season. And because of the turnover from a year ago, seeing Jason Witten, Orlando Scandrick and Dan Bailey no longer around, there is obvious change.

After a team vote, Dak Prescott, Sean Lee and Tyrone Crawford are back as captains for the season. They will be joined by guard Zack Martin and punter Chris Jones, who is now the team's special teams captain.

This news will put the equipment staff to work, as they will add the "C" patch to their jerseys, starting Sunday in Carolina.

Prescott has now been a captain two of his three seasons on the offensive side of the ball, while Martin is a first-time captain, replacing the spot vacated by Witten. Travis Frederick's injury and uncertain status likely led to Martin getting the votes.

Jones gets the nod on special teams, but don't forget about snapper L.P. Ladouceur, who is the team's longest tenured player as he enters his 14th pro season.

2018 Captains:

Dak Prescott - Zack Martin - Sean Lee - Tyrone Crawford - Chris Jones