Whataburger Coach of the Week 2018

Congratulations to this years Whataburger Coach of the Week Winners!

Week 1: Coach Oscar Castillo (Diamond Hill-Jarvis High School)

Week 2: Lee Wiginton (Midlothian Heritage High School)

Week 3: Lon Holbrook (Birdville High School)

Week 5: Carlos Lynn (Ceder Hill High School)

Week 6: Brian Basil (Flower Mound High School)

Week 7: Chad Cole (Frisco Reedy High School)

Week 8: Bill Howard (Wylie High School)

Week 9: Kyle Story (Frisco Independence High School)

Week 10: Michael Odle (Lewisville High School)

Area Round: Mike Overton (Mesquite High School)

Regional Round: Reginald Samples (Duncanville High School)

About Whataburger Coach of the Week

The Dallas Cowboys are proud to partner with Whataburger for the 2018 Coach of the Week program. Now in its 24th year, the weekly award engages North Texas football fans in recognizing local high school coaches who are making a positive impact on their teams, school and community through hard work and dedication to young athletes.

Each week during the high school football season, two local coaches will be nominated as "finalists" for that week's award based off of their school's most recent match-ups. Students, faculty, parents and football fans everywhere can then help Whataburger and the Dallas Cowboys select that week's Coach of the Week winner through online voting hosted on DallasCowboys.com.

The coach accumulating the most votes at the conclusion of the voting period will be named Coach of the Week and be recognized with a $2,000 grant provided by Gene and Jerry Jones Family Foundation and Whataburger for his school's football program.

Twelve coaches in all will be selected to receive grants over the course of the season and check presentations will be made during an in-school pep rally with assistance from Cowboys mascot ROWDY, Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders and Whataburger executives.

"We're excited to be a part of this year's Coach of the Week program with the Dallas Cowboys," said Whataburger President and CEO Preston Atkinson. "This is a great opportunity for Whataburger to help recognize high school coaches who go above and beyond to mentor our young athletes and play such vital roles within our communities and schools."

The Coach of the Week award winner will also receive a one-of-a-kind certificate signed by NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, Cowboys Head Coach Jason Garrett, Dallas Cowboys Owner and General Manager Jerry Jones and Cowboys Chief Brand Officer Charlotte Jones Anderson.

At the conclusion of the program, each of the 12 Coach of the Week award-recipients and a guest will be invited to attend a Dallas Cowboys practice a The Star in Frisco with Whataburger executives.

The 2018 season marks the 24th year the Dallas Cowboys have honored high school football coaches with the Coach of the Week program. The program spans the length of the high school football season and is designed to aid and promote high school football and the development of youth football.

"The Dallas Cowboys are excited to partner with Whataburger on the Coach of the Week program," said Charlotte Jones Anderson, Dallas Cowboys Executive Vice President and Chief Brand Officer. "Whataburger and high school football are two great Texas traditions. By teaming up to honor high school coaches, their teams and community, we can say 'Thank You' for their hard work in shaping young football players into the very best that they can be."

The goal of the Coach of the Week program is to give high school football coaches the recognition they deserve and provide schools financial assistance to maintain and upgrade their football programs. Over the last 23 years, the Coach of the Week program has provided approximately 240 grants totaling more than $375,000 to area football programs.

For additional information on the program or to vote for a 2018 Whataburger Dallas Cowboys Coach of the Week recipient, please visit www.dallascowboys.com/coachoftheweek.

About Whataburger

Whataburger has focused on its fresh, made-to-order burgers and friendly customer service since 1950 when Harmon Dobson opened the first Whataburger as a small roadside burger stand in Corpus Christi, Texas. Dobson gave his restaurant a name he hoped to hear customers say every time they took a bite of his made-to-order burgers: "What a burger!" Within the first week, people lined up around the block for his 25 cent, 100 percent beef burgers served on five-inch buns. Today, the company is headquartered in San Antonio, Texas, with more than 760 locations in 10 states with sales of more than $1 billion annually. Visit www.whataburger.com for more information on the company or become a fan on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/whataburger.

About Gene and Jerry Jones Family Foundation

In the area of community service, the Gene and Jerry Jones Family Foundation mission is built upon an overall philosophy of helping those who don't have the strength, the resources or the means to help themselves. As a sports entity that has enjoyed unprecedented success and recognition for more than four decades, the Dallas Cowboys feel a very strong obligation to transfer that championship tradition and the magic that it creates toward the bigger purpose of making a difference in the community. More information about the Dallas Cowboys is available at www.dallascowboys.com.

Congratulations to our 2017 Whataburger Coach of the Week Winners!

Week 1: Chad Cole (Reedy​ High School)

Week 2: George Teague (John Paul II High School)

Week 3: Josh Ragsdale (South Garland High School)

Week 4: Marvin Sedberry (Naaman Forest High School)

Week 5: Tony Baccarini (Keller Fossil Ridge High School)

Week 6: Jeff Smith (McKinney High School)

Week 7: Brian Brazil (Hebron High School)

Week 8: Derick Roberson (Dallas Skyline High School)

Week 9: Jeff Rayburn (Frisco Lone Star High School)

Week 10: Lonnie Jordan (Lake Highlands High School)

Week 11: Kody Groves (Mesquite Poteet High School)

Playoffs: Chris Melson (Mansfield Legacy High School)

Congratulations to our 2016 Whataburger Coach of the Week Winners!

Week 1:Coach Vance Gibson (Frisco High School)

Week 2: Coach Joey McCullough (Plano East High School)

Week 3: Coach Todd Peterman (DeSoto High School)

Week 4: Coach Mike Robinson (North Mesquite High School)

Week 5: Coach Chris Jensen (Trinity High School)

Week 6: Coach Mark Behrens (Sachse High School)

Week 7: Coach Todd Lawson (Dunbar High School)

Week 8: Coach Chris Melson (Mansfield Legacy High School)

Week 9: Coach Randy Jackson (Grapevine High School)

Week 10: Coach Kendrick Brown (Little Elm High School)

Playoffs 1: Coach Lee Wiginton (Midlothian Heritage High School)

Playoffs 2: Coach Kody Groves (Poteet High School)