Skip to main content

Initial Practice Squad Includes New QB, TE, WR


FRISCO, Texas – The Cowboys are back to practice Monday, and they've got their initial 10-man practice squad set.

The list includes seven players from their training camp roster who cleared waivers and three newcomers: quarterback Clayton Thorson, tight end Cole Hikutini and wide receiver Ventell Bryant.

Thorson, Hikutini and Bryant cleared waivers after spending preseason with the Eagles, Vikings and Bengals, respectively. Thorson was Philadelphia's fifth-round draft pick out of Northwestern this past April. Bryant went undrafted out of Temple.

Hikutini, undrafted out of Louisville in 2017, has appeared in four career games with the 49ers, catching two passes for 15 yards. The Cowboys have been thin at tight end recently with Blake Jarwin (foot) and Dalton Schultz (ankle) sitting out the Frisco portion of camp.

Here is the current 10-man squad:

WR Ventell Bryant
LB Chris Covington
TE Cole Hikutini
OT Mitch Hyatt
CB Michael Jackson
CB Donovan Olumba
QB Clayton Thorson
RB Mike Weber
WR Cedrick Wilson
DL Daniel Wise