Two Former Draft Picks Among Trio Added To Cowboys' Practice Squad

FRISCO, Texas – The Cowboys shook up their practice squad with a whopping five transactions on Tuesday afternoon.

With just two vacancies remaining on the 10-man practice squad, they first released defensive end Ryan Russell and linebacker Deon King. Both players spent training camp with the Cowboys, and Russell was the team's fifth round pick in 2015.

Those two moves were followed by three additions – two on defense, one on offense. Those three signings were linebacker Jeremiah George, defensive end Zach Moore and offensive tackle Keavon Milton.

George was a fifth-round draft pick by the New York Jets in 2014, but he was released after his rookie training camp and signed to the practice squad briefly before signing with Jacksonville. He was released by the Jaguars after training camp in 2015 and signed with Tampa Bay, but the Buccaneers released him at the tail end of training camp this summer.

Moore was a sixth-round pick by the New England Patriots in 2014 and was active for eight games as a rookie. The Patriots released him after training camp in 2015, and he was signed to the Minnesota Vikings' squad. The Vikings released Moore as part of their final roster cuts over the weekend.

Milton originally signed with New Orleans after going undrafted in 2013. He spent time with Cleveland, Seattle and New England. The Patriots released him last week ahead of their final preseason game.

After that flurry of activity, there's one open spot remaining on the practice squad.

-- David Helman

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.