Skip to main content

Cowboys Vote 5 Team Captains For 2016 Season

FRISCO, Texas – The Cowboys on Friday voted their five team captains for the 2016 season: tight end Jason Witten, center Travis Frederick, safety Barry Church, linebacker Sean Lee and kicker Dan Bailey.

Being voted a captain by his peers again is a "great honor," Lee said, "especially with all the leaders we have on this team."

"When you're voted a captain, you have to step up every single day," he continued. "You have to lead by example every single day. "You have to take your game to another level. So it's something that I'm proud of, but I know it's something that I have to work to live up to."

With quarterback Tony Romo currently sidelined with a fractured bone in his back, Frederick takes the second offensive captain spot alongside long-time captain Witten. It's the first captain selection for the All-Pro center who's entering his fourth season.

--Rob Phillips

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.