Skip to main content

Past/Present Blog

Presented by

Darren Woodson named Hall of Fame finalist


On the doorstep of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Darren Woodson has been selected as a finalist for the second straight year.

Woodson was denied the Gold Jacket opportunity last year, his first season as a finalist, when he did not make the class of 2023. But he's back once again and perhaps this will be the year that Woodson, the Cowboys, all-time leader in tackles, gets the elusive call for the Hall of Fame.

Woodson is among 15 modern-era finalists, who will all head to Las Vegas, the site of Super Bowl LVIII. The 2024 class will be announced Feb. 8 at the NFL Honors show.

From 1992-2003, Woodson spent his entire career with the Cowboys, He was also selected to five Pro Bowls and four All-Pro teams and won three Super Bowls with the Cowboys.

He's the only player in franchise history to play for five head coaches - Jimmy Johnson, Barry Switzer, Chan Gailey, Dave Campo and Bill Parcells.

While the Cowboys are never short on current superstars, their legacy was built on legends, many of which have long retired from the game. Still, former Cowboys players and coaches constantly garner headlines, which will be captured in the ongoing "Past & Present Blog." Here are some of the latest news items that have come from some members of the Cowboys' alumni.


Dallas Cowboys Staff Writers

Related Content