Smith, Martin Named To NFL All-Decade Team


FRISCO, Texas – The Cowboys have enjoyed some historically good offensive line play over the last decade.

If any evidence was necessary, it's been commemorated in the NFL's 2010-19 All-Decade Team, which was announced Monday by the league and the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The 53-man team featured just two Dallas Cowboys selections. Both of those were offensive linemen, as Tyron Smith and Zack Martin were both chosen among the best of the past decade.

Smith was one of four offensive tackles selected, along with Joe Thomas, Jason Peters and Joe Staley. Martin was one of four All-Decade guards, along with Jahri Evans, Logan Mankins and Marshal Yanda.

Both choices are obvious. Since being selected No. 9 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft, Smith has been one of the most dominant left tackles in the game. He has been named a first-team All-Pro twice, with another pair of second-team designations. His selection to the Pro Bowl in 2019 was his seventh-straight, giving him the most appearances by an offensive tackle in Dallas Cowboys history.

And then there's Martin, who has produced at an All-Pro level since he stepped foot in the league. The Cowboys drafted Martin No. 16 overall out of Notre Dame back in 2014, and he has been All-Pro in every year of his career – a four-time first-teamer and a two-time second-teamer. He has also been selected to six-straight Pro Bowls, which is tied for second-most among Cowboys guards, behind only Larry Allen's 10 selections.

A case could be made for a third Cowboys offensive lineman to make the team. Travis Frederick missed the cut, as the center position was filled by Maurkice Pouncey and Alex Mack. It's hard to argue with Puncey's five All-Pro designations and eight Pro Bowl nods. Mack does have more Pro Bowl selections than Frederick, but Frederick has one first-team All-Pro bid – which Mack cannot claim.

The full All-Decade Team offense can be seen here, and the full All-Decade Team defense can be seen here.