Skip to main content

Cowboys Make 38 Moves, One Trade To Reach 53; Kellen Moore Released

FRISCO, Texas – The Cowboys reached the NFL's 53-man roster limit by Saturday's 3 p.m. deadline by making 38 moves, including releasing backup quarterback Kellen Moore.

They also traded an undisclosed selection in 2019 to the Cincinnati Bengals for cornerback Bene' Benwikere.

Moore is the most notable departure from the 90-man preseason roster, having entered training camp firmly as the No. 2 quarterback behind starter Dak Prescott. Because he's a vested veteran, Moore does not go through waivers and immediately becomes a free agent.

By the end of preseason, undrafted rookie Cooper Rush began splitting second-team reps with Moore. Rush, who threw six touchdown passes and no interceptions in four games, is currently the team's only backup quarterback behind starter Dak Prescott. Veteran Luke McCown was also released.

Benwikere, a fifth-round pick by Carolina in 2014, played in 27 games (14 starts) over three seasons with the Panthers, recording 76 tackles, 20 pass breakups and two interceptions.

Last October, after being waived by Carolina, Benwikere was claimed by Miami and later spent time on the Dolphins' and Packers' practice squads. The Bengals signed him in February. He could provide depth at cornerback early in the season with rookies Chido Awuzie and Jourdan Lewis working back from injury.

To help reach the 53-man limit, the Cowboys moved three players to reserve lists. Cornerback Duke Thomas (ankle, knee) was placed on Reserve/Injured; defensive ends David Irving (four games) and Damontre' Moore (two games) were placed on Reserve/Suspended.

Here is the Cowboys' full list of roster moves to reach the league's 53-man limit:


DE Richard Ash                       

DE Woody Baron                     

RB Brandon Brown-Dukes      

WR Brian Brown                  

C Ross Burbank                    

CB Dejaun Butler                    

DT Jordan Carrell                     

G Kadeem Edwards              

LB Kennan Gilchrist                 

CB John Green                        

WR Karel Hamilton                    

P Sam Irwin-Hill                     

DT Joey Ivie                             

TE Blake Jarwin                     

WR Andy Jones                         

LB Joseph Jones                     

DE Lenny Jones                      

WR Lance Lenoir                      

DE Darnell Leslie                      

LB Lamar Louis                       

TE M.J. McFarland                   

DE Lewis Neal                         

WR Uzoma Nwachukwu          

CB Sammy Seamster               

S Jameill Showers                 

G Dan Skipper                        

G Nate Theaker                      

CB Marquez White                   

LS Zach Wood *                                                                                                                                 *

*Released                                                                                               *

S Robert Blanton                   

T Emmett Cleary                   

RB Ronnie Hillman                   

QB Kellen Moore   

QB Luke McCown*                                                                                            *

*Injury Settlement                                                                                 *

T Clay DeBord*                                                                                     *

*RESERVE/SUSPENDED                                                                            *

DE Damontre' Moore

DE David Irving   *                                                                                      *

*RESERVE/INJURED                                                                                  *

CB Duke Thomas *      *

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content