Skip to main content

Cowboys Make Five Roster Moves; Announce Undrafted Free Agents

IRVING, Texas – The Cowboys announced a variety of roster moves on Friday as their rookie minicamp got underway.

The team released defensive tackle Chris Whaley, running back Ben Malena and cornerback Buddy Jackson. They also officially released offensive tackle Reshod Fortenberry and defensive end Kenneth Boatright – who were injured last season but never injury settled.

The moves put the Cowboys' roster at 90 members, which is the limit for offseason activities. The addition of their nine-man draft class, not to mention their undrafted free agents, had pushed them over the limit.

Speaking of the undrafted free agents, the Cowboys announced those signings on Friday afternoon as well. They were:

DE Caleb Azubike (Vanderbilt)
C Jake Brendel (UCLA)
WR Chris Brown (Notre Dame)
DT Rodney Coe (Akron)
CB Arjen Colquhon (Michigan State)
WR Ed Eagan (Northwestern State)
OT David Hedelin (Purdue)
WR Andy Jones (Jacksonville)
LB Deon King (Norfolk State)
OT Ryan Mack (Memphis)
CB Jeremiah McKinnon (Florida International)
DE Jason Neill (Texas-San Antonio)
OG Boston Stiverson (Kansas State)

Cowboys rookies underwent a morning walkthrough and an afternoon practice on Friday, and they'll go through a similar workload over the weekend. After the three-day camp specifically for rookies, team teaching periods continue. Full-team OTAs are slated to begin May 24.


This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content