Skip to main content

Cowboys Retain Practice Squad

To no surprise, the Cowboys did re-sign all eight of their current practice squad players on Monday. That's a standard procedure done at the end of every regular season.

By rule, the practice squad guys become street free agents again and have the right to sign with any other team. In most cases, the players just stick with their team. In 2008, Danny Amendola did sign with the Eagles right after the season and spent some time with Philly during the playoffs.

But that wasn't happening this year. Remember, most of these guys that finished the year on the practice squad joined the team in midseason.

G/C Travis Bright and OT Robert Brewster were both here in camp, as was TE Jason Pociask, who didn't come back until last month.

The Cowboys also retained DE Alex Daniels, DB Ross Weaver, WR Troy Bergeron and WR Jeff Moturi and LB Kevin Smith.

This was also an odd season in that several players were called up from the practice squad this year, including WR Teddy Williams, SS Andrew Sendejo, QB Chris Greisen, WR Jesse Holley, WR Manny Johnson, RB Lonyae Miller and CB Bryan McCann.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content