Skip to main content

Garrett Voted PFWA Coach Of The Year; Elliott Gets PFWA Rookie Awards

FRISCO, Texas – Jason Garrett and Ezekiel Elliott have been selected for annual awards by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Following a franchise-record tying number of regular-season wins and the NFC's best record (13-3), Garrett has been voted the 2016 NFL Coach of the Year and Elliott has been voted 2016 Rookie of the Year and 2016 Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Garrett led the Cowboys to a nine-win increase from their 4-12 record in 2015, the largest turnaround in franchise history.

In 1966, Tom Landry was the first recipient of the Coach of the Year award (1966; 1975).

Elliott, who led the NFL in rushing, is the first Cowboys rookie to win PFWA Rookie of the Year since Emmitt Smith in 1990. Tony Dorsett (1977) and Calvin Hill (1969) also won the award.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content