Skip to main content

Haley, Coakley Make College HOF Class

Two former Cowboys players will be included in the 2011 Divisional College Football Hall of Fame class during a July enshrinement in South Bend, Ind., honor some of the small-college greats.

Dexter Coakley, who starred at Appalachian State, and Charles Haley, a former James Madison standout, are among this year's five-person class, which also includes Mike Favor (North Dakota State), Mickey Korbosky (Trinity College) and coaches Mike Kelly and Bill Manlove.

Coakley, a third-round pick of the Cowboys in 1997 who played eight seasons and went to three Pro Bowls, completely dominated in college, becoming a three-time first-time All-American and remain the only two-time winner of the Buck Buchanan Award for the Division I-AA top defender. Coakley is also the only player to be named Southern Conference Defensive Player of the Year in three straight years.

As for Haley, who has become a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame in each of the last two year but has yet to get inducted, he was one of James Madison's first great players. Haley was the school's first All-American and first player drafted in the NFL. Haley led his school in sacks and tackles for each of his final three seasons at James Madison.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content