Skip to main content

Jerry Jones, 8 More Cowboys Get HOF Rings Sunday; '92 Team To Be Honored

FRISCO, Texas – The Pro Football Hall of Fame will honor Jerry Jones and eight former Cowboys greats on Sunday night.

Jones, a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017, will receive his Ring of Excellence – one of three iconic symbols for Hall of Fame members, along with the gold jacket and bronzed bust – during halftime of Cowboys-Eagles at AT&T Stadium.

Jones' gold jacket and bronzed bust were unveiled in August during his enshrinement ceremony in Canton, Ohio.

"I would have never dreamed about 27, 28 years ago that my journey in the NFL and how it has evolved, how the NFL has evolved," Jones said Friday on 105.3 The Fan. "I never dreamed that I would have gotten to be involved and have all the wonderful times of fun and the great experiences that I've had. And to get to do all of that plus get a ring too seems like too much.

"I feel lucky and I'm fortunate. I have stood on so many, many shoulders. Everybody knows it. I didn't do this catching a football. I got involved here because of a lot of people really making the Cowboys and hopefully making the NFL something special."

Eight other Hall of Fame inductees also will receive their Ring of Excellence on Sunday: Tony Dorsett (Class of 1994), Michael Irvin, (Class of 2007), Bob Lilly (Class of 1980), Mel Renfro (Class of 1996), Emmitt Smith (Class of 2010), Roger Staubach (Class of 1985), Randy White (Class of 1994) and Rayfield Wright (Class of 2006).

At the end of this season, every living Hall of Famer will have received the new Ring of Excellence, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced.

In addition, members of the Cowboys' 1992 championship team (Super Bowl XXVII) will be honored by the Cowboys organization at Sunday's game.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content