Skip to main content

Nate Jones Among 12 NFL Players At Officials Clinic


IRVING, Texas – Former Cowboys defensive back Nate Jones is among 12 NFL players taking part in the Tom Beard Football Officials Clinic at Maritime Institute and Morgan State University from March 14-16 in Baltimore.

Jones, one of 11 former players to participate, was selected for the three-day program by NFL Player Engagement and the NFL Football Officiating Academy. Jones played eight NFL seasons from 2004-2011, making stops in Dallas, Denver Miami and New England.

"As a recently retired player, it is important for me to stay involved in the game," Jones said in a news release. "Becoming an official is the perfect way to achieve this goal."

The players will take part in a customized Officiating 101 orientation developed by the NFL Football Officiating Academy before participarting in a program featuring classroom and on-field instruction, including breakouts by position group, on-field scrimmage work, and keynotes from Super Bowl XLVII referee Jerome Boger and NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino. Previous Super Bowl referees Scott Green and Terry McAulay are among the instructors, which include current and former officials and officiating supervisors.

More than 10 NFL officials as well as officials from the CFL, Arena League and college football have participated at the Tom Beard officiating camps and clinics. Senior vice president of NFL Player Engagement Troy Vincent said the group is excited to continue providing opportunities for former players to explore post-playing careers.

"Officiating is a natural extension for players who have an interest in staying close to the game," Vincent said in the release. [embedded_ad]

The Bengals' Chris Crocker is the only current player to take part in the clinic. Following are the NFL players participating in the Tom Beard Football Officials Clinic:


Current/Former team(s)

Charles Ali

Former (CLV, BLT)

C.C. Brown

Former (HST, NYG, DET, JAX)

Ahmad Carroll

Former (GB, JAX, NYJ)

Mark Collins

Former (NYG, KC, GB, SEA)

Aaron Craver

Former (MIA, DEN, SD, NO)

Chris Crocker

Current (CIN)

Rick DeMulling

Former (IND, DET, WAS)

Nate Jones

Former (DAL, MIA, DEN, NE)

Terrence Melton

Former (ATL, NO)

William Thomas

Former (PHI, OAK)

Landon Trusty

Former (SD)

Dewayne Washington

Former (MIN, PIT, JAX, KC)

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content