Skip to main content

Pearson, Haley, Allen Into Ring Of Honor

ARLINGTON, Texas --Twenty eight years after his retirement, Drew Pearson is finally a Cowboys Ring of Honor member.

Joining him is Larry Allen, arguably the most dominant offensive lineman in franchise history, and Charles Haley, viewed as the missing link to the Cowboys' defensive renaissance of the 1990s. All three will be formally inducted at the Cowboys' Nov. 6 home game against the Seattle Seahawks.

Cowboys owner Jerry Jones announced all three additions at a press conference here at Cowboys Stadium, just prior to the team's situational practice with the San Diego Chargers. Also symbolic of the Cowboys' rich tradition, some 50 former players are scheduled to visit practice as special guests.

Long regarded as one of the most important players in team history, Pearson played 11 seasons in Dallas (1973-83) and was a key member of the 1977 Super Bowl championship team. He ranks third on the Cowboys' all-time receiving list with 489 catches for 7,822 yards and 48 touchdowns.

Allen, an 11-time Pro Bowler and six-time All-Pro, played every line position but center and was a dominant force for 12 seasons, including the Cowboys' 1995 title year.

Haley has won an NFL-record five Super Bowls in 13 NFL seasons, including three in Dallas from 1992-96. He finished with 100.5 career sacks.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content