Skip to main content

Travis Frederick Among 32 Nominees For NFL Sportsmanship Award

FRISCO, Texas –Cowboys All-Pro center Travis Frederick is among 32 player nominees for the fourth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, which will be announced at NFL Honors before Super Bowl LII.

Each of the league's 32 teams nominated a player for the award, which recognizes players who demonstrate outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The league established the award in 2014 to honor the late Art Rooney, Sr., the Hall-of-Fame founding owner of the Steelers.

Frederick, a three-time Pro Bowler, has never missed a start for the Cowboys in his five-year career and has been a team captain.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community – Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler – will choose eight finalists from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when current NFL players vote on Dec. 15. Their vote will determine the NFL Sportsmanship Award winner. Players cannot vote for their own team.

Frank Gore (2016), Charles Woodson (2015) and Larry Fitzgerald (2014) were the first three award recipients.

This year's winner will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice, as well as a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content