Skip to main content

Cowboys Add Thomas, Wetzel To Practice Squad


IRVING, Texas – The Cowboys filled out their 10-man practice squad by signing two members of their training camp roster on Tuesday.

The ninth and 10th additions are offensive tackle John Wetzel and defensive back Jemea Thomas, who survived the initial round of roster cuts on Saturday but were released during subsequent moves.

Wetzel, who spent time at both guard and tackle with the second and third-string offensive line, was cut to make room for Donald Hawkins, who the Cowboys claimed off waivers on Sunday. Thomas was signed to the 75-man roster last week ahead of the preseason finale against Denver, but he was released Monday to make room for Korey Toomer.

Thomas has the flexibility to play both cornerback and safety, which makes the decision to keep him at Valley Ranch unsurprising. The Cowboys only have eight defensive backs on the active roster at this point, but that versatility could prove helpful if any injury problems arise.

The Cowboys initially signed Wetzel to their practice squad during the second half of 2013 and were [embedded_ad] impressed by his progress. It looked like he might make the 53-man squad as the ninth offensive lineman – right up until the decision to add Hawkins.

The practice squad currently has 10 players, eight of whom spent at least part of training camp with the Cowboys. Micah Pellerin, who spent part of 2013 with the team, signed after he was released by Tennessee, and Nikita Whitlock signed after he was released by Cincinnati.

The other six practice squad members – aside from Pellerin, Thomas, Wetzel and Whitlock – are Ryan Williams, Keith Smith, Will Smith, Ronald Patrick, Kenneth Boatright and Tim Benford.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content