Skip to main content

NFL Rushing Title, Franchise Record Helps Murray Win AP Offensive Player of the Year

No running back rushed for more yards this season than DeMarco Murray.

No running back in Cowboys history has ever rushed for in one season than Murray.

So it only made sense that Murray won the NFL's AP Offensive Player of the Year Award Saturday night during the NFL's Honors Show, featuring the top individual awards for the 2014 season.

Murray becomes the first player in Cowboys' history to win the AP Offensive Player of the Year Award.

Other Cowboys finalists for awards included head coach Jason Garrett for Coach of the Year, which went to Arizona's Bruce Arians and Tony

Romo, who was a finalist for the MVP Award that went to Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers. Rolando McClain was also a finalist for Comeback Player of the Year, which went to Patriots tight end Rob Gronkowski.

But Murray was relatively easy choice for the top offensive player, after leading the league with 1,845 yards, which broke Emmitt Smith's single-season Cowboys record of 1,773 yards set in 1995.

Murray set an NFL record with seven straight 100-yard rushing games to begin a season. He also played all 16 games despite suffering a fractured hand after the Week 15 game with the Eagles.

Romo didn't win the NFL MVP Award, but was the recipient of the "Greatness on the Road" Award presented by Courtyard. Romo helped guide the Cowboys to a perfect 8-0 road record in 2014.

Here's the list of award winners Saturday night:

NFL MVP – Aaron Rodgers, Packers

Coach of the Year – Bruce Arians, Cardinals

Offensive Player of the Year – DeMarco Murray, Cowboys

Defensive Player of the Year – J.J. Watt, Texans

Comeback Player of the Year – Rob Gronkowski, Patriots

Offensive Rookie of the Year – Odell Beckham Jr., NY Giants

Defensive Rookie of the Year– Aaron Donald, Rams

Assistant Coach of the Year – Todd Bowles, Cardinals

Salute to Service Award – Jared Allen, Bears

Art Rooney Award – Larry Fitzgerald, Cardinals

Greatness on the Road Award – Tony Romo, Cowboys

Deacon Jones Award – Justin Houston, Chiefs

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year – Thomas Davis, Panthers

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content