Skip to main content

T.O. Among 15 Modern-Era Hall Finalists; Woodson, Johnson Don't Advance

FRISCO, Texas – Former Cowboys wide receiver Terrell Owens is among 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2017, the NFL announced Tuesday.

The list was trimmed from 26 semifinalists. Among those who did not advance to the finalist stage are former Cowboys head coach Jimmy Johnson and safety Darren Woodson.

Joining Owens and the other 14 modern-era finalists are two Contributors Committee finalists – Cowboys owner/general manager Jerry Jones and former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue – and Seniors Committee finalist Kenny Easley. Jones was announced as a finalist this past August.

The election vote will take place in Houston on Super Bowl weekend in February. Jones, Tagliabue and Easley will be voted on separately from the modern-era finalists. A finalist must receive 80 percent of the vote for election.

The Class of 2017 will be announced Saturday, Feb. 4 the night before Super Bowl LI.

Owens played for the Cowboys from 2006-08 during a 15-year career that also included stops in San Francisco, Philadelphia, Buffalo and Cincinnati. He produced three straight 1,000-yard seasons and 38 touchdowns, and the Cowboys made the playoffs in 2006 and 2007.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content